Product comparisons
Robot Vacuums for Farmhouses, Dog Hair and Mudrooms compared, with a verified Canadian price.
8 products verified · checked Oct 6, 2026
For a rural Ontario farmhouse or a mudroom-heavy rural property, not the condo a robot vacuum ad was shot in. "Best robot vacuum" is the single most saturated search on the open web — RTINGS, Wirecutter, and a decade of Reddit threads already own that head term, testing dozens of units a year in lab conditions most of us will never replicate. This page doesn't try to beat them at that; it narrows to the case they don't: hardwood and tile mixed with area rugs and thresholds, dog hair that wraps around a bristle brush within a week, boot-tracked grit that a bristle brush just redistributes instead of lifting, and a mudroom that needs the robot to find its way back there daily without being chased down. Eight robots below split into two groups by what their dock actually does — four that self-empty but leave the mop (if any) for you to wash, and four whose dock also washes and heat-dries the mop pad — each compared on suction, self-empty capacity or auto-wash capability, obstacle avoidance, battery runtime, and a verified Canadian price read straight off Amazon.ca.
Self-emptying picks for pet hair (dust-only dock)
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
| Product | Suction | Self-empty | Obstacle avoidance | Battery | Warranty | Price | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
iRobot Roomba j6+ (6550) iRobot | 10x Power-Lifting Suction vs. the Roomba 600 series (iRobot does not publish a Pascal figure for this model) | 60 days, Clean Base enclosed bag | PrecisionVision Navigation, front-facing camera — identifies and avoids pet waste and charging cords | Not stated separately on this listing (the page's "battery life" field is populated with the 60-day self-empty figure, not a runtime) | Not stated on the Amazon.ca listing | Vacuum-only and self-emptying, and the only robot in this table backed by a written pledge — iRobot's P.O.O.P. guarantee — to avoid pet waste or replace the unit free. More+ The only robot in this table backed by a written manufacturer guarantee against vacuuming over pet waste – 3.3-star Amazon.ca rating; a recurring complaint across reviews is the robot getting stuck or missing rooms despite the camera | |
Roborock Q7 Max+ Roborock | 4,200 Pa, auto-boosts to maximum when carpet is detected | Auto-Empty Dock Pure, 2.5L dust bag, up to 7 weeks | PreciSense LiDAR mapping only, no camera — Amazon.ca reviewers report it has driven over charging cords and a plant stand | 180 minutes, up to 3,229 sq ft per charge | Not stated on the Amazon.ca listing | A vacuum-and-mop combo whose dock only empties dust rather than washing the mop — the budget-friendly route into self-emptying without paying for an auto-wash station. More+ The only self-emptying pick in this table with LiDAR-precision room mapping and a 180-minute runtime under $1,000 – No camera-based obstacle avoidance — reviewers report it running over charging cords and small obstacles | |
Shark Matrix Self-Empty Robot Vacuum (RV2300CA) Shark | Not published in Pascals on this listing; Shark describes it only as "incredible suction" | Bagless base, holds up to 30 days of dirt and debris — no disposable bags to buy | 360° LiDAR home mapping detects and avoids objects; no front-facing camera | Reviewers report 90+ minutes in practice; Shark's own comparison chart lists this exact model at 60 minutes | Not stated on the Amazon.ca listing | Vacuum-only with a bagless self-empty base — the one pick in this table that skips disposable dust bags entirely, which matters when Amazon delivery isn't a daily thing. More+ Bagless self-empty base — never buy a disposable dust bag for this one, unlike every other self-emptying pick here – Shark's own comparison table on this listing shows only a 60-minute runtime, the shortest of any self-emptying pick in this table | |
Dreame D20 Plus Dreame | 13,000 Pa (Vormax) | 5L dust bag, up to 150 days | Anti-Collision bump sensors only — no camera and no LiDAR obstacle-mapping beyond navigation | 180 minutes, 5,200 mAh | Not stated on the Amazon.ca listing | The budget pick in this table — self-empties for up to 150 days on one 5L bag and still ships with a detangling brush built specifically for pet hair. More+ Cheapest self-emptying pick here at $339.99, with the longest stated self-empty interval (150 days) of any product in this table – Anti-Collision is bump-sensor based, not camera or LiDAR obstacle mapping — one reviewer reported the robot scratching itself on a baseboard |
Prices and specs read directly from each merchant's Canadian product page on the date shown — never a guess. A product never appears here until we've verified it first-hand.
Vacuum + mop combos with auto-wash docks
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
| Product | Suction | Auto-wash dock | Obstacle avoidance | Battery | Warranty | Price | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
eufy X10 Pro Omni eufy | 8,000 Pa | Yes — mop pads washed with clean water, dried at 45°C (113°F); dust bag replaced roughly every 2 months | AI.See camera-based recognition, claims 100+ object types, works at night — see our FAQ on camera privacy below | 173 minutes | Not stated on the Amazon.ca listing | Washes and heat-dries its own mop pads after every run, and its AI.See camera claims to recognize over 100 obstacle types in the dark — a camera that maps the home, which is a trade-off worth knowing about. More+ 4.2 stars across 13,200+ ratings — the best-reviewed auto-wash combo in this table, with repeated praise from dog and cat owners for daily pet-hair pickup – Several reviewers call the self-empty cycle "incredibly loud," and a few report the unit failing outright within a year | |
Roborock Qrevo S Pro Roborock | 18,500 Pa | Yes — 75°C (167°F) high-temperature mop self-cleaning, 45°C (113°F) warm-air drying, 2.7L dust bag lasting 7-9 weeks | Reactive AI obstacle recognition — LiDAR-based reactive tech, not a front-facing camera — avoids shoes, toys and furniture legs | 180 minutes | Not stated on the Amazon.ca listing | Roborock's current best-seller: a 75°C mop wash and warm-air dry, 18,500 Pa of suction, and a stated 55dB noise floor that's genuinely quiet for a self-washing dock. More+ #1 best seller on Amazon.ca with 3,976 ratings at 4.2 stars, and the only product in this table with a stated 55dB noise figure – One reviewer specifically flagged carpet suction as weaker than a vacuum-only unit they'd owned previously | |
ECOVACS DEEBOT T90 Pro Omni ECOVACS | 30,000 Pa (BLAST airflow) | Yes — fresh-water roller mop washed and scraped in real time, 167°F (75°C) high-temp self-cleaning, hot-air drying, auto detergent dispensing | AI object recognition via a built-in RGB camera — the same camera supports two-way pet video calls and pet snapshots; this is a camera mapping your home, stated plainly here | Not stated in minutes — ECOVACS states only a 10%-in-3-minutes PowerBoost fast-charge figure | Not stated on the Amazon.ca listing | A continuously-rinsed roller mop instead of spinning pads, 30,000 Pa of suction, and a built-in camera that doubles as a pet-check video call — a feature worth weighing against its privacy trade-off. More+ Highest stated suction of any product in this table (30,000Pa) and a roller mop reviewers say leaves markedly less residue than a pad – One reviewer reported the robot repeatedly attempting to drive off a floor-to-ceiling window ledge — obstacle avoidance isn't flawless despite the camera | |
NARWAL Freo Z10 Turbo NARWAL | 25,000 Pa | Yes — hot-water mop wash up to 167°F (75°C), auto-drying, auto detergent dosing, 2.5L dust bin lasting up to 120 days | Front and side sensors with smart avoidance — this generation replaced the previous Ultra's RGB camera with LiDAR, per Amazon.ca reviewers | 210 minutes, 5,200 mAh | Not stated on the Amazon.ca listing | Narwal's current flagship drops the front-facing camera its previous Ultra generation used, running obstacle avoidance on LiDAR and sensors alone — simpler, and one less camera mapping the house. More+ Highest self-empty dust capacity window in this table at up to 120 days, with no front camera mapping the home – 4.0-star rating is the lowest of the auto-wash combos here; reviewers report navigation getting "lost" and water pooling in the dock on some units |
Prices and specs read directly from each merchant's Canadian product page on the date shown — never a guess. A product never appears here until we've verified it first-hand.
Also on Amazon.ca
A few things most owners of the systems above end up buying anyway — verified on Amazon.ca's own page, same rules as the table.
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
iRobot Clean Base Automatic Dirt Disposal Bags (3-Pack)
Every self-emptying dock in this table except Shark's bagless base eventually needs a replacement disposal bag — this is the genuine iRobot bag for the Roomba j6+ above and the wider Clean Base lineup.
Roborock Q7 / Q7 Max+ Brush, Filter & Mop Replacement Kit (17-piece)
A rubber main brush, HEPA filters, mop cloths, dust bags and side brushes for the Roborock Q7 Max+ above — the first parts that wear out on a dog-hair-heavy floor.
Roborock Q7 / Q7 Max+ Washable Mop Pad Set (8 reusable + 2 disposable)
A rotation of clean mop pads for the combo units in this table whose dock doesn't auto-wash the pad — swap in a fresh one instead of hand-washing between rooms.

Reviewed by John Moelker
Founder, CompareLocal.ca · Oxford County, Ontario · Updated Oct 6, 2026 · How we choose
Near you: Woodstock, Stratford, St. Thomas — local water, utility and installer notes for kitchen and laundry.
How we chose
Amazon-first, same house rule as every category on this page: every row below was opened on its own Amazon.ca listing on 2026-10-06, with the price, rating count, and every spec taken from that page, never a press release or a spec sheet from the brand's own site. Rubber brushes over bristle brushes is the detail that matters most for dog and cat hair specifically — a bristle brush traps long hair around its axle within days, while the rubber or "anti-tangle" brushes on every product below are built to shed hair instead of winding it up, and several listings say so explicitly. We split the table by dock capability rather than by vacuum-only-versus-combo hardware, because several of the "self-emptying" group's picks still carry a basic mop pad; the real dividing line for a farmhouse buyer is whether the dock washes that pad for you or whether you're pulling it off to rinse it yourself. Obstacle avoidance gets flagged honestly by type: a camera-based system (eufy, ECOVACS) claims to recognize and steer around specific hazards like pet waste, but a camera is also a device mapping the inside of your home, which we say plainly in the FAQ below rather than skip past; a LiDAR-only system (Roborock, Shark, Narwal's current generation) has no camera but also can't make iRobot's specific written promise about pet accidents. None of the eight listings stated a warranty term on the Amazon.ca page itself, so every row says that honestly instead of guessing a number pulled from a different market's version of the same brand. We are not vacuum repair technicians, and nothing here is a durability guarantee beyond what the manufacturer itself states — Amazon's own 30-day return window is the real backstop if a unit arrives faulty.
Fighting dust and allergens on top of the floor, not just dirt? Compare dehumidifiers and air purifiers with a verified Canadian price →
Want the house to hold a steadier temperature while the robot does its rounds? Compare smart thermostats with a verified Canadian price →
Frequently asked questions
Will a robot vacuum actually handle a farmhouse mudroom with dog hair and tracked-in grit?
Mostly, with caveats none of these listings hide. Every product in this table advertises a rubber or anti-tangle main brush specifically built to resist the hair-wrapping that kills a bristle brush within days — the eufy X10 Pro Omni and Roborock Qrevo S Pro both carry repeated reviewer praise from multi-dog households on exactly this point. Grit and gravel tracked in from a farmyard is a tougher case: these are household robots, not shop vacs, and a doormat or boot tray that catches the worst of it before the mudroom floor will do more for the robot's longevity than any spec in this table. None of the eight is rated for anything resembling a workshop or barn floor.
What's the real difference between a self-emptying vacuum and a wash-and-dry combo?
The dock, not the robot. Every product in our "self-emptying" group — the iRobot Roomba j6+, Roborock Q7 Max+, Shark Matrix Self-Empty, and Dreame D20 Plus — has a dock that empties the dust bin into a bag or bin automatically, but if the robot also carries a mop pad, you're the one taking it off to rinse it. Our "wash-dry-combo" group — eufy X10 Pro Omni, Roborock Qrevo S Pro, ECOVACS DEEBOT T90 Pro Omni, and NARWAL Freo Z10 Turbo — adds a dock that washes the mop pad in hot water and dries it with warm air after every run, which matters most in a kitchen or mudroom getting mopped daily. The wash-dry docks cost roughly $200-$650 more than the dust-only docks in this table for that extra step.
Do these robots actually avoid pet accidents, or is that marketing?
Only one product here makes a specific, backed claim: the iRobot Roomba j6+ carries iRobot's P.O.O.P. (Pet Owner Official Promise), a written pledge to replace the robot free if it fails to avoid pet waste, using a front-facing camera (PrecisionVision Navigation) to identify the hazard before it runs over it. The eufy X10 Pro Omni and ECOVACS DEEBOT T90 Pro Omni both use a camera for general obstacle recognition — claiming 100+ and unspecified object types respectively — but neither one makes a specific pet-waste guarantee the way iRobot does. Every other product in this table (Roborock, Shark, Dreame, Narwal's current generation) runs obstacle avoidance on LiDAR and bump sensors alone, with no camera and no pet-specific claim at all.
Should I worry about a robot vacuum's camera mapping my house?
It's worth knowing plainly, which is why we flag it on every row that has one rather than let the obstacle-avoidance spec speak for itself. The eufy X10 Pro Omni and ECOVACS DEEBOT T90 Pro Omni both use a front-facing or built-in camera to recognize obstacles — the ECOVACS camera doubles as a two-way video-call and pet-snapshot feature, which is convenient but is still a camera inside your home connected to an app and the cloud. The iRobot Roomba j6+ also uses a camera, specifically for its pet-waste detection. If a camera-equipped robot in your house is a dealbreaker, the Roborock Q7 Max+, Roborock Qrevo S Pro, Shark Matrix Self-Empty, Dreame D20 Plus, and NARWAL Freo Z10 Turbo all run on LiDAR and sensors with no camera at all — Narwal's own reviewers note this current generation specifically replaced the previous Ultra model's RGB camera with LiDAR.
How much do consumables actually cost to keep one of these running?
Less than most buyers expect, and we link three verified Amazon.ca examples below rather than estimate. A 3-pack of genuine iRobot dust-disposal bags runs $19.99 CAD and, per iRobot's own listing, each bag holds roughly 30 bins of debris — call it several months per 3-pack for a typical household. A 17-piece brush, filter, dust-bag, and mop-cloth kit for the Roborock Q7 Max+ (also fitting the wider Q7 line) runs $46.64 and, per the listing, is meant to be replaced roughly every 6-8 weeks. A set of 8 reusable plus 2 disposable washable mop pads for the same Roborock line runs $15.35 and is meant to last 2-3 months with regular washing. None of the eight product listings in this table published an annual consumables-cost figure, so we aren't inventing one — these three prices are the real, dated numbers to budget from instead.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. CompareLocal.ca is independent and Canadian-owned. How we make money.