Product comparisons
Dehumidifiers and Air Purifiers compared, with a verified Canadian price.
8 products verified · checked Oct 6, 2026
For Ontario homeowners fighting two different air problems under one roof: a basement that climbs past 60% relative humidity every summer and grows a faint mildew smell behind the furnace, and a house that fills with wildfire smoke haze for days at a stretch most summers now. Southwestern Ontario basements sit on heavy clay and groundwater that keeps humidity high even without a leak — most HVAC guidance puts 30–50% relative humidity as the comfortable, mould-resistant range, and a basement that sits above that invites dust mites and mould whether or not there's standing water anywhere. The eight products below are split into two groups — dehumidifiers for basements and crawl spaces, and air purifiers for wildfire smoke and allergens — each compared on coverage, capacity or CADR, noise, warranty, and a verified Canadian price read off Amazon.ca itself, not marketing claims.
Dehumidifiers for basements and crawl spaces
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
| Product | Type | Coverage | Capacity | Noise | Warranty | Price | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Midea Energy Star Certified Dehumidifier, WiFi, 50 Pint (MAD50C1ZWS) Midea | Compressor, portable, manual tank or gravity drain | 4,500 sq. ft. (without pump, 2019 DOE rating) | 50 pints/day | Not stated in dB on the product page — described as "quieter than a household refrigerator" | 1 year parts and labour | The 50-pint basement workhorse with WiFi notifications when the tank is full — the most-reviewed dehumidifier we checked on Amazon.ca, at 6,656 ratings. More+ WiFi app sends a notification when the 1.6-gallon tank is full, instead of finding out by the smell of standing water – Only a 1-year warranty, the shortest of the four dehumidifiers here — several buyer reviews report compressor or defrost failures between 6 months and 2 years | |
DREO 73 Pint Smart Dehumidifier, Energy Star 6.0 Certified, 41dB DREO | Compressor, portable, manual tank or drain hose | 2,000 sq. ft. | 73 pints/day (95°F, 90% RH) | 41 dB | Not stated on the product page | The quietest dehumidifier in this table at a stated 41dB, and the only one certified to the newer, stricter ENERGY STAR 6.0 standard. More+ ENERGY STAR 6.0 certified — DREO states up to $292/year less electricity than a standard DOE dehumidifier of the same capacity – Warranty length isn't published anywhere on the Amazon listing — worth asking DREO directly before buying | |
Waykar 80 Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier, 5,500 Sq. Ft. Waykar | Compressor, portable, manual tank or drain hose | 5,500 sq. ft. | 80 pints/day (95°F, 90% RH) | 42 dB | Not stated on the product page | The largest coverage area of the four at the lowest price, from the most-reviewed dehumidifier brand we checked on Amazon.ca (19,861 ratings). More+ Lowest price of the four at this capacity, and ENERGY STAR certified – Manual tank holds only 4.3L (1.14 gal) — without the included drain hose connected, a big damp basement needs emptying more than once a day | |
AlorAir Sentinel HD55 Crawl Space Dehumidifier, 113 Pints/Day AlorAir | Compressor, commercial-grade, auto-drain only (no manual bucket) | 1,200–1,300 sq. ft. | 113 pints/day at saturation (53 pints/day AHAM-equivalent) | Not stated on the product page — several buyer reviews describe it as noticeably audible, not whisper-quiet | 6 years limited (first 2 years full coverage) | A purpose-built crawl space and commercial-grade unit with no manual bucket at all — it only runs through its own drain hose, sold directly from AlorAir's own Amazon.ca storefront. More+ Longest warranty of any dehumidifier in this table at 6 years, with full coverage for the first 2 – No manual bucket mode at all — it only runs with a drain hose connected, so it isn't a grab-and-go option for a room without a nearby drain |
Prices and specs read directly from each merchant's Canadian product page on the date shown — never a guess. A product never appears here until we've verified it first-hand.
Air purifiers for wildfire smoke and allergens
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
| Product | Type | Coverage | CADR / filtration | Noise | Warranty | Price | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Levoit Core 300-P Air Purifier Levoit | True HEPA, 3-in-1 filter (pre-filter + activated carbon + HEPA) | 1,073 sq. ft. (once per hour); 222 sq. ft. (4.8x per hour) | AHAM Verified — 143 CFM smoke, 153 CFM dust, 167 CFM pollen; 99.97% filtration at 0.1–0.3 microns | 24 dB (sleep mode) | Not stated on the product page | The cheapest entry point here, with an AHAM-verified CADR and an optional Smoke Remover filter built specifically for wildfire smoke. More+ AHAM-verified CADR numbers, not just a bare "covers X sq ft" marketing claim – Smallest coverage area of the four air purifiers here — undersized for an open-concept main floor | |
Winix 5510 Air Purifier (New Generation of 5500-2) Winix | True HEPA + activated carbon + optional PlasmaWave ionizer (can be switched off) | 1,881 sq. ft. (1 hour); AHAM Verified at 392 sq. ft. | True HEPA rated to capture 99.99% of particles down to 0.01 microns (manufacturer figure) | 27 dB | Not stated on the product page | The successor to Winix's long-running 5500-2, with WiFi app control and the largest stated coverage of the four at this price. More+ WiFi app control and the largest coverage claim of the four purifiers here for the price – PlasmaWave is an ionizing feature — we leave it off and recommend the same, since ozone-generating "ionic" air cleaners are not something we recommend running (see our FAQ below) | |
Coway Airmega AP-1512HH(W) True HEPA Purifier Coway | True HEPA + washable pre-filter + carbon deodorization filter | 361 sq. ft. in 12.5 min; 874 sq. ft. in 30 min; 1,748 sq. ft. in 60 min | True HEPA, 99.97% filtration at 0.3 microns, reduces 99% of VOCs and odour | 53.8 dB rated — buyer reviews describe low and medium settings as noticeably quieter than this top-speed figure | Not stated on the product page | Wirecutter's "Top Pick" for seven years running, with an Eco Mode that shuts the fan off once the air has stayed clean for 30 minutes. More+ Wirecutter's "Top Pick" for 7 years running, and the most-reviewed purifier here at 4.6 stars across 28,241 ratings – 53.8dB rated noise is the highest on-paper figure of the four — a real factor at top fan speed, even though most owner reviews describe low and medium as quiet | |
Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max Air Purifier Blueair | HEPASilent dual filtration (mechanical + electrostatic) + washable pre-filter | 3,235 sq. ft. (1 hour); 674 sq. ft. (12.5 min) | HEPASilent, 99.97% filtration down to 0.1 microns | 23 dB | Not stated on the product page | The largest coverage and the quietest stated noise level of the four — 23dB — using Blueair's HEPASilent dual filtration. More+ Largest stated coverage area and the quietest noise spec of the four air purifiers here, at 23dB – Priciest of the four air purifiers here, and multiple buyer reviews flag replacement filter cost as an ongoing expense |
Prices and specs read directly from each merchant's Canadian product page on the date shown — never a guess. A product never appears here until we've verified it first-hand.

Reviewed by John Moelker
Founder, CompareLocal.ca · Oxford County, Ontario · Updated Oct 6, 2026 · How we choose
Near you: Woodstock, Stratford, St. Thomas — local water, utility and installer notes for heating and cooling.
How we chose
This category runs Amazon-first: Amazon pays us a commission when you buy through these links, and we say so plainly above every table — see the disclosure and How We Make Money. We only publish a product once we've opened its actual Amazon.ca listing ourselves and read the price, coverage, and spec numbers off it, including the ratings count, which we note alongside the "as of" date and source link on every row. Dehumidifier capacity numbers (pints/day) are the vendor's own saturated-condition rating, usually tested at 95°F and 90% relative humidity — real-world performance in a cooler, drier basement runs noticeably lower, so we lean toward sizing a dehumidifier bigger than the bare square-footage claim suggests, and we flag which units only drain through a hose with no manual bucket option. For air purifiers, we favour an AHAM-verified CADR number over a bare "covers X sq ft" claim wherever the manufacturer publishes one, and we call out ionizing features like Winix's PlasmaWave honestly instead of pretending they aren't there: ozone-generating "ionic" air cleaners are not something we recommend running, full stop — see our FAQ below. We are not HVAC technicians, industrial hygienists, or doctors, and this isn't medical advice: if wildfire smoke or basement mould is making someone in the house sick, see a doctor, and if a basement is actively taking on water rather than just running humid, that's a sump-pump or foundation problem a dehumidifier won't solve.
Need something bigger than a portable unit — a pump-equipped 50-pint machine, a crawl-space commercial dehumidifier, or a contractor-installed whole-home ducted system? Compare basement and whole-home dehumidifiers with a built-in pump →
Dealing with active basement flooding, not just humidity? Compare backup power for sump pumps and well pumps →
Already fighting hard water on top of a damp basement? Compare water softeners with a verified Canadian price →
Need a professional water-treatment installer instead? See water treatment installers verified for Woodstock and area →
Frequently asked questions
How big a dehumidifier do I actually need for my basement?
Start from the vendor's rated capacity in pints per day, but treat it as a best-case number: manufacturers test it at 95°F and 90% relative humidity, conditions far more extreme than a typical Ontario basement actually sits at, so real-world moisture removal runs lower. A rough rule of thumb many manufacturers publish: a 1,000 sq ft moderately damp basement wants around 40–50 pints/day of rated capacity, and a very damp or musty-smelling basement of the same size wants 60+ pints/day. Our table's coverage figures (4,500–5,500 sq ft for the household units, 1,200–1,300 sq ft for AlorAir's commercial-grade crawl space unit) come straight from each product's own Amazon.ca listing — size up rather than down if your basement runs noticeably humid.
What's the difference between HEPA filtration and a CADR number, and which one actually matters?
"HEPA" describes the filter itself — a True HEPA filter is independently defined to capture 99.97% of particles at 0.3 microns, the hardest particle size to trap. CADR (Clean Air Delivery Rate) is a different, measured number: how many cubic feet of filtered air the whole unit actually delivers per minute, tested separately for smoke, dust, and pollen. A purifier can use a HEPA-grade filter and still have a mediocre CADR if its fan is weak, so for picking a size, CADR (ideally AHAM Verified, like Levoit's Core 300-P in our table) tells you more than the filter grade alone. A bigger CADR number clears a given room size faster — that's the number behind every "covers X sq ft" coverage claim in our table.
Are ionic or ozone-generating air purifiers safe to run?
No, and we don't recommend them. Ozone is a lung irritant at the concentrations some ionic and "ozone generator" air cleaners produce, and Health Canada's own guidance specifically warns against devices that intentionally generate ozone as an air cleaning method. The Winix 5510 in our table includes an optional PlasmaWave ionizing mode, and we say so plainly in its row rather than pretending it isn't there — it can be switched off entirely, and we'd leave it off and rely on the unit's mechanical HEPA and carbon filtration instead. None of the other three purifiers in our table include an ionizing mode at all.
Will a dehumidifier fix a basement that's actually flooding, not just humid?
No — every dehumidifier in this table pulls moisture out of the air, not standing water off the floor or water actively coming in through a crack or a failed sump pump. If your basement takes on water during heavy rain or a power outage, that's a sump pump, foundation waterproofing, or backup-power problem to solve first; a dehumidifier is what keeps the air comfortable and mould-resistant afterward. See our backup power comparison if a power outage is what's knocking your sump pump offline.
How much upkeep do these actually need — filters, tanks, and running cost?
On the air purifier side, expect to replace filters roughly every 6–8 months under normal use (Levoit states this explicitly for the Core 300-P); Winix, Coway, and Blueair all sell replacement filter sets separately, and several buyer reviews flag Blueair's as the priciest of the four to keep up with. On the dehumidifier side, the Midea, DREO, and Waykar units all have a small manual tank (1.1–1.85 gallons) that needs emptying regularly unless you connect the included drain hose to a floor drain or sump; AlorAir's Sentinel HD55 skips the bucket entirely and only runs with a hose connected. DREO's ENERGY STAR 6.0 certification is the only one in our dehumidifier table with a stated electricity-savings figure — DREO claims up to $292/year less than a standard DOE-rated unit of the same capacity.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. CompareLocal.ca is independent and Canadian-owned. How we make money.