Product comparisons
Snow Blowers compared, with a verified Canadian price.
11 products verified · checked Oct 6, 2026
For a Southwestern Ontario driveway that sees lake-effect squalls roll off Lake Huron and Lake Erie on top of ordinary snowfall — and for the long gravel driveways common across Oxford County, where a single-stage machine throws stone along with the snow. The eleven snow blowers below split into three groups: single-stage gas and battery machines (push, light-to-moderate snow, paved surfaces only); full-size two-stage gas machines (24 to 28 inches, with adjustable skid shoes for gravel and enough throw distance to clear the heavy, wet pile the municipal plow leaves at the end of the driveway); and two-stage battery machines for the heaviest conditions a cordless machine can handle, plus one no-battery-included option for an owner who already owns a battery platform. Every unit is compared on clearing width, intake height, throw distance, gravel suitability, and a verified Canadian price — never a guess.
Single-stage gas and battery machines for paved drives
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
| Product | Power | Clearing width | Intake height | Throw distance | Drive | Warranty | Price | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Greenworks 13 Amp 20-Inch Corded Electric Snow Blower Greenworks | 13-Amp AC motor, corded electric (120V) | 20 in | 10 in clearing depth | Up to 30 ft | Push (not self-propelled) | 3-year | A gas-free, plug-in single-stage blower for a small-to-medium paved driveway — no battery to charge, and unlimited runtime on the cord. More+ Lightest and cheapest machine in this table, with unlimited corded runtime and a 3-year warranty – Corded — limited by extension cord reach, not rated for gravel, and the plastic auger is built for light, dry snow | |
EGO Power+ SNT2134 21-Inch Single-Stage Snow Blower with Peak Power EGO Power+ | 56V battery, 2x 6.0Ah batteries + dual-port charger included | 21 in | Not stated on this listing | Not stated as a numeric spec on this listing | Push (not self-propelled) | Not stated on this listing | EGO's flagship single-stage battery blower — two 6.0Ah batteries included, enough torque to match a small gas machine without the fumes. More+ Two 6.0Ah batteries included out of the box — no separate battery purchase needed to use it immediately – No self-propel, and this Amazon.ca listing states neither a throw-distance figure nor a warranty term | |
Greenworks PRO 80V 20-Inch Brushless Cordless Snow Blower Greenworks | 80V battery, 1x 2.0Ah battery + single-port rapid charger included | 20 in | 10 in clearing depth | Up to 25 ft | Push (not self-propelled) | 4-year limited, tool and battery | Greenworks' 80V single-stage machine with a battery and charger in the box — the most affordable complete battery kit in this table. More+ Only single-stage battery kit in this table under $650, with LED lights and a 4-year warranty on both tool and battery – A 1.4kW motor and one 2.0Ah battery clear roughly a 5-car driveway per charge — heavier snow needs a second battery, sold separately | |
Toro Power Clear 721 QZE Single-Stage Gas Snow Blower Toro | 212cc Toro OHV 4-cycle gas engine, electric start | 21 in | 12 in | Up to 35 ft | Power Propel self-propelled | 2-year full + 2-year Guaranteed to Start (residential) | $1,398.00as of Oct 6, 2026 Home Depot Canada → | A gas single-stage machine with self-propel and electric start — Toro's Power Curve paddles clean down to bare pavement on a paved drive. More+ Self-propelled and electric-start, backed by Toro's 2-year Guaranteed-to-Start promise — the only gas machine in this group – Single-stage paddles throw gravel on anything but a paved surface — Toro's own spec sheet lists this model for paved use only |
Prices and specs read directly from each merchant's Canadian product page on the date shown — never a guess. A product never appears here until we've verified it first-hand.
Two-stage gas machines, 24 to 28 inches, for gravel and the plow pile
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
| Product | Engine | Clearing width | Intake height | Throw distance | Gravel-suitable | Warranty | Price | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Ariens Deluxe 28 Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower (254cc) Ariens | 254cc Ariens AX 4-cycle gas, electric start | 28 in | 21 in | Up to 50 ft | Yes — adjustable skid shoes, stated for paved and unpaved surfaces | 3-year residential / 90-day commercial | $2,599.00as of Oct 6, 2026 Rona.ca → | The two-stage benchmark for a long rural driveway — a 14-inch serrated steel auger, adjustable skid shoes, and auto-turn steering built for gravel. More+ Adjustable skid shoes and auto-turn steering built specifically for ungroomed, unpaved driveways — the clearest gravel pick here – No power steering and no heated handles at this price — both show up only on pricier two-stage machines in this table |
Husqvarna Compact Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower (24-Inch) Husqvarna | Husqvarna 4-cycle gas, electric start (displacement not stated on this listing) | 24 in | 21 in | Not stated as a numeric spec on this listing | Yes — skid shoes included, rated for paved and unpaved surfaces | 3-year limited (no commercial coverage stated) | $1,099.99as of Oct 6, 2026 Rona.ca → | The cheapest real two-stage gas machine in this table, sized for a driveway that doesn't need a 28-inch bucket. More+ Lowest price of any two-stage gas machine in this table, with skid shoes included for a gravel driveway – No power steering, no headlight, and this listing doesn't state the engine's displacement or a throw distance |
Toro Power Max 724 OE Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower (212cc, 24-Inch) Toro | 212cc Toro OHV 4-cycle gas, electric start | 24 in | 20 in | Not stated as a numeric spec on this listing | Yes — skid shoes included, rated for paved and unpaved surfaces | 3-year limited residential / 3-year or 1,000 hours commercial | $2,099.00as of Oct 6, 2026 Rona.ca → | A mid-size two-stage Toro with no shear pins to replace — the auger gearbox is built to stall instead of break. More+ Hardened Gears auger gearbox has no shear pins to replace — the engine stalls instead of breaking a pin on a hidden rock or curb – No headlight, and this listing doesn't publish a throw-distance figure the way Toro's bigger Power Max HD listings do |
Toro Power Max HD Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower (252cc, 28-Inch) Toro | 252cc Toro 4-cycle OHV gas, electric start | 28 in | 21 in | Up to 49 ft | Yes — skid shoes included, rated for paved and unpaved surfaces | 3-year limited (residential and commercial) | $2,599.00as of Oct 6, 2026 Rona.ca → | The biggest gas machine in this table — a commercial-grade steel gearbox and a 252cc engine built for the heaviest end-of-driveway pile. More+ Commercial-grade steel gearbox, LED headlight, and the longest gas throw distance in this table at 49 ft – 240 lb and the highest price of any gas machine here — more machine, and more to store, than a typical suburban driveway needs |
Prices and specs read directly from each merchant's Canadian product page on the date shown — never a guess. A product never appears here until we've verified it first-hand.
Two-stage battery machines for the heaviest snow
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
| Product | Battery | Clearing width | Intake height | Throw distance | Driveway per charge | Warranty | Price | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
EGO Power+ SNT2416 24-Inch Self-Propelled Two-Stage Snow Blower EGO Power+ | 56V, 2x 10.0Ah ARC Lithium batteries + dual-port charger included | 24 in | 20 in | Up to 50 ft | An 8-in, 24-car driveway on one charge, per EGO's own stated figure | 5-year tool + 5-year battery | $2,299.00as of Oct 6, 2026 Rona.ca → | EGO's flagship two-stage battery machine — two 10.0Ah batteries, heated handle grips, and a self-propelled drive included in the box. More+ Heated handle grips and a 5-year warranty on both the tool and the batteries — the longest coverage of any battery machine here – At $2,299 with batteries included, it costs about as much as a full-size gas two-stage machine |
EGO Power+ SNT2807 28-Inch Self-Propelled Two-Stage Snow Blower EGO Power+ | 56V, 2x 12.0Ah ARC Lithium batteries + dual-port charger included | 28 in | 26.1 in | Up to 60 ft | An 8-in, 32-car driveway on one charge, per EGO's own stated figure | 5-year tool + 5-year battery | $2,799.00as of Oct 6, 2026 Rona.ca → | EGO's biggest battery machine — two 12.0Ah batteries, a 60-foot throw, and the same heated grips as the 24-inch model. More+ Longest throw distance (60 ft) and largest intake of any machine in this whole table, battery or gas – At 229 lb and $2,799, it's the heaviest and most expensive machine in this category — a real commitment for a battery blower |
Greenworks Pro 80V 24-Inch Dual-Stage Self-Propelled Snow Thrower (Tool Only) Greenworks | 80V, runs on three 80V batteries (battery and charger NOT included) | 24 in | 20 in | Up to 50 ft | Not stated on this listing | 4-year limited | $1,813.00as of Oct 6, 2026 Rona.ca → | A two-stage battery machine that runs on three 80V batteries at once — the cheapest two-stage battery blower here, if you already own the batteries. More+ Lowest price of any two-stage battery machine here at $1,813 — a real saving if you already own three Greenworks 80V batteries – Tool only: no battery or charger included, and it needs three 80V batteries to run — budget several hundred dollars more if starting from zero |
Prices and specs read directly from each merchant's Canadian product page on the date shown — never a guess. A product never appears here until we've verified it first-hand.
Also on Amazon.ca
A few things most owners of the systems above end up buying anyway — verified on Amazon.ca's own page, same rules as the table.
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
Ariens 510015 Shear Pin and Nut Kit (Pack of 5)
The auger on every two-stage machine above is protected by a shear pin designed to snap before a hidden rock, curb edge, or chunk of ice wrecks the gearbox — keep spares on hand so a broken pin doesn't end your snow day.
Kipiea Universal Snow Blower Cover (600D, fits 20–28 in machines)
Every two-stage gas machine above sits outside or in an unheated shed all winter — a cover keeps rain, snow and UV off the engine, paint and controls between storms.
STA-BIL Storage Fuel Stabilizer (236 mL)
Every gas machine in this table sits unused most of the year — add this to the tank before spring storage or the gasoline gums up the carburetor by next winter.

Reviewed by John Moelker
Founder, CompareLocal.ca · Oxford County, Ontario · Updated Oct 6, 2026 · How we choose
Near you: Woodstock, Stratford, St. Thomas — local water, utility and installer notes for outdoor and garage.
How we chose
This category runs Amazon-first where Amazon.ca actually sells the complete machine: the four single-stage blowers below link through Amazon.ca, where John earns a real commission once you buy (disclosed above every table). Two-stage gas machines — Ariens, Husqvarna, and both Toro Power Max units — are a different story: searching Amazon.ca for each one on 2026-10-06 returned only parts (shear pins, belts, carburetors) and the occasional off-brand corded shovel, never the actual machine, which matches how these brands sell in Canada — through dealers and national retailers, not Amazon. Those four link instead to RONA's own Canadian site, where we opened and read each product's real listing — in-stock status, price, and every spec in the table — on 2026-10-06; RONA runs no confirmed small-publisher affiliate program, so those rows are disclosed as "none," not "affiliate." The same is true of the Toro Power Clear 721 QZE gas single-stage machine: it's dealer-only on Toro's own site, which shows no price at all, so we link to Home Depot Canada's Woodstock-store listing instead, which did show a price the day we checked even though the model was out of stock online that day — we say so plainly rather than hide it. On gravel: a single-stage machine's rigid scraper bar rides right along the ground and will throw gravel, dirt and small stones along with the snow on anything but a smooth, paved surface — every two-stage machine in this table ships with adjustable skid shoes specifically so the auger housing floats above a gravel or loose surface instead of digging into it, which is the real reason a rural driveway needs a two-stage machine and a suburban paved one usually doesn't. On the end-of-driveway plow pile: that snow is heavy, wet, and often partly refrozen — a single-stage machine will struggle with it regardless of power, which is why every two-stage listing here states its own throw distance rather than one generic number for the whole category. On battery cold-weather performance: we report only what each manufacturer's own listing states, nothing inferred — Greenworks tells owners to store 80V batteries at 16–23°C for peak performance and to warm a cold battery before trying again if a unit won't start; neither EGO listing here states a specific cold-weather operating range, so we don't invent one, and the EGO driveway-per-charge figures above (24-car and 32-car driveways at 8 inches of snow) are EGO's own stated numbers, not ours. On the dealer question: Ariens, Husqvarna, and both Toro Power Max two-stage machines are the kind of equipment a rural Ontario owner typically buys through a local small-engine dealer rather than online, for the parts and warranty service a big-box store usually can't match once the machine needs a new belt or a carburetor rebuild three winters from now — buying online is cheaper up front, but ask about service before you decide. A gas three-stage machine (Cub Cadet's 3X and Troy-Bilt's XP, both 357–420cc) would round out the heaviest-snow group, but every one we checked at RONA and Canadian Tire on 2026-10-06 was listed "discontinued in your selected store and nearby stores" with no price shown anywhere online — we left them out rather than guess a price, and will add one back once a Canadian retailer actually has one in stock.
Heavy, wet snow like this often comes with the power flickering or going out entirely. Compare home generators for the next ice storm or outage →
Frequently asked questions
Do I really need a two-stage snow blower for a gravel driveway, or will a single-stage one work?
A single-stage machine's auger and scraper bar ride directly on the ground to both dig and throw the snow in one motion — on a paved driveway that's fine, but on gravel it will pick up stones, dirt and loose gravel right along with the snow and fling all of it at whatever's downrange. A two-stage machine solves this with adjustable skid shoes: small runners bolted to the housing that let you set the auger to float a half-inch or so above the actual ground surface, so it clears snow without digging into gravel, mulch or an uneven lawn edge. Every two-stage machine in this table — the Ariens Deluxe 28, the Husqvarna, both Toro Power Max units, and all three battery two-stage machines — ships with skid shoes already in the box; none of the four single-stage machines are rated for anything but a paved surface.
What's the real difference between a single-stage and a two-stage snow blower?
A single-stage machine uses one spinning auger to both collect and throw the snow in a single motion — simpler, lighter, and usually cheaper, but it tops out around 9 to 12 inches of light, dry snow on a smooth surface. A two-stage machine splits the job: a slower, heavier-duty auger pulls snow into the housing, then a separate high-speed impeller fan throws it out the chute — that second stage is what lets a two-stage machine chew through wet, heavy, or deep snow (several of our two-stage picks are rated up to 18 inches) and the dense, re-frozen pile a municipal plow leaves at the end of a driveway, which a single-stage machine generally can't move at all.
Will a battery-powered snow blower actually work in an Ontario winter, and how long does a charge last?
The three two-stage battery machines in this table — the EGO SNT2416, the EGO SNT2807, and the Greenworks Pro 80V 24-inch — all run on lithium-ion packs, and cold does reduce a lithium battery's usable capacity somewhat, same as it does in an electric car. We report only what each maker's own listing actually states rather than guessing: Greenworks tells owners to store 80V batteries at 16–23°C for peak performance and to let a cold battery warm to room temperature before trying again if a unit won't start; EGO's own listings for the SNT2416 and SNT2807 don't publish a specific cold-weather operating range at all. What EGO does publish is a driveway-per-charge figure: the SNT2416 is stated to clear an 8-inch snowfall on a 24-car driveway on one charge with its included 10.0Ah batteries, and the SNT2807 a 32-car driveway with its 12.0Ah batteries — those are EGO's numbers, under whatever conditions EGO tested them in, not a guarantee for every storm.
Should I buy a gas two-stage snow blower online, or from a local small-engine dealer?
Either can work, but think about service, not just the sticker price. Ariens, Husqvarna, and Toro's Power Max line are exactly the kind of equipment that's traditionally sold and serviced through local small-engine dealers across rural Ontario — a dealer can often do a pre-season tune-up, source a replacement belt or auger paddle same-day, and diagnose a carburetor problem a big-box store's customer service line can't. All four of our two-stage gas picks link to RONA, a real Canadian retailer with a verified in-stock price, which is a perfectly legitimate way to buy one — just don't assume online automatically means cheaper once you factor in winter service, and ask whichever dealer or store you buy from what their service turnaround actually looks like in January.
What are shear pins, and do all two-stage snow blowers use them?
A shear pin is a small, deliberately weak bolt that connects the auger to its drive shaft on most two-stage machines — if the auger hits a hidden rock, a curb edge, or a chunk of ice, the pin is designed to snap first, so the auger stops instead of transmitting that shock back into the gearbox and wrecking it. It's a cheap, easy-to-replace part by design; our consumables section below links a 5-pack of Ariens' own 510015 shear pins, the same part family used across Ariens' ST series including the Deluxe 28 above. Not every machine uses them the same way: both Toro Power Max units in this table replace the shear-pin system entirely with what Toro calls Hardened Gears — instead of a pin breaking, the engine itself stalls when the auger hits something too hard, which means nothing to replace afterward, just restart the engine once the obstruction clears.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. CompareLocal.ca is independent and Canadian-owned. How we make money.