Product comparisons
Garage Door Openers compared, with a verified Canadian price.
7 products verified · checked Oct 7, 2026
For a Canadian homeowner whose garage door opener finally died in February, or who's installing a brand new one in a just-built garage with an 8-foot door increasingly common on newer Southwestern Ontario builds. The seven openers below split into three honest groups: belt-drive smart openers that are the quietest option and pair with a phone app, chain-drive value openers that are the most field-proven and cheapest drive type, and jackshaft wall-mount operators that clear the whole ceiling by mounting beside the door instead of overhead. An unheated Ontario garage is hard on any opener — grease and lubricant that's fine at room temperature can stiffen in a -20°C cold snap, which is part of why a belt drive (no metal-on-metal chain to lubricate) tends to stay quieter through winter than a chain drive, though chain drives are simpler to service and usually cheaper to begin with. A power outage matters here too: an opener with a working battery backup still opens on a remote or keypad when a rural power line goes down, while one without a backup needs the manual red-cord release and a lot of arm strength until the power's back. Every price below is read off the opener's own Amazon.ca listing, dated the day we checked it.
Belt-drive smart openers — quietest option, WiFi app control, best for an attached garage near living space
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
| Product | Drive | WiFi App | Camera | Battery Backup | Lighting | Warranty | Price | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Chamberlain B6753T Secure View Smart Garage Door Opener Chamberlain | Belt drive, DC motor, MAX lift power | myQ (a paid subscription unlocks video history and voice-assistant integration beyond live view) | Built-in 130° wide-angle camera with 2-way audio, integrated into the opener head | Included — opens and closes the door during a power outage | 2,000 lumens, corner-to-corner LED, motion-activated | Accessories 1 year, belt lifetime, motor lifetime, parts 5 years | The only belt-drive opener in this table with a built-in camera and 2-way audio — Chamberlain's premium Secure View line, with battery backup and corner-to-corner LED lighting included. More+ The only opener in this whole table with a built-in camera and 2-way audio — no separate myQ camera purchase needed – At $789.90 the most expensive belt-drive opener here, and several verified Canadian reviews describe needing a paid myQ subscription for video history and voice-assistant features beyond basic open/close | |
Chamberlain B4603T MyQ Smart Garage Door Opener Chamberlain | Belt drive, DC motor (lift force comparable to 3/4 HP; Chamberlain states DC motors aren't rated in true horsepower) | myQ, with Bluetooth-assisted setup | None built in | Not included | 1,000 lumens LED, motion-activated | Not stated as a separate warranty line on this listing — confirm coverage with Chamberlain directly | Chamberlain's mid-tier belt-drive opener — Bluetooth-assisted myQ setup and a 1,000-lumen light, without the camera or battery backup of the B6753T above. More+ Bluetooth-assisted myQ setup cuts the pairing steps other openers in this table need – No battery backup and no camera — both standard on the pricier B6753T above — and one verified review describes Chamberlain discontinuing Google Home/Alexa voice support on this model after purchase |
Prices and specs read directly from each merchant's Canadian product page on the date shown — never a guess. A product never appears here until we've verified it first-hand.
Chain-drive value openers — the most field-proven drive type, lowest price per opener
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
| Product | Drive | WiFi App | Battery Backup | Lighting | Warranty | Price | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Genie ChainMax 1000 (Model 3022-TKC) Genie | Chain drive, 140V DC motor, 3/4 HPc | None — no smartphone control on this model | Not included on this unit — a separate Genie battery backup is required anywhere local code mandates one | Two 100W bulb sockets (bulbs not included) | Not stated as a separate warranty line on this listing | A straightforward, non-smart chain-drive opener — no app, no WiFi, just a 3/4 HPc DC motor and two 100W bulbs, for a buyer who wants reliability over features. More+ The highest customer rating of any opener in this whole table — 4.6 stars from 562 ratings — and the lowest price of any Genie-branded unit here – No app and no WiFi at any price — if phone control matters later, it isn't a software upgrade, it means buying a different opener | |
Skylink ATR-1611W Chain Drive Opener Skylink | Chain drive, DC motor, 1/2 HPf | Orbit Home app; integrates with IFTTT for Alexa/Google routines | Optional — Skylink BA-100 battery backup sold separately | Built-in 12W LED | Not stated as a separate warranty line on this listing; Skylink's Canadian support line fields warranty questions directly | A Canadian-made-and-supported chain-drive opener — Skylink is based in Richmond Hill, Ontario — with WiFi control through the Orbit Home app, at well under half the price of the premium belt-drive openers above. More+ Sold and shipped directly by Skylink Inc. — a Richmond Hill, Ontario company — rather than a US-marketplace import, with a Canadian support line several verified reviewers specifically praised – Several verified Canadian reviews describe the Orbit app's WiFi connection as unreliable long-term, even while the chain drive and motor kept working fine — budget for using the physical remote and keypad as the primary control | |
Skylink ATR-1622CKW Chain Drive Opener with Keypad Skylink | Chain drive, DC motor, 1/2 HPf | Orbit Smart app; integrates with Alexa, Google Assistant and IFTTT | Optional — Skylink BA-100 battery backup sold separately | Built-in LED, energy-efficient, no bulb replacement needed | Not stated as a separate warranty line on this listing | Skylink's step-up chain-drive model over the ATR-1611W — the same Orbit WiFi app, plus a wireless keypad included in the box instead of as a separate purchase. More+ Wireless keypad and deluxe wall console included in the box — the ATR-1611W above sells its keypad separately – At $299.97 it costs 36% more than the ATR-1611W for the same motor and drive — only worth the difference if the included keypad and diagnostic display matter |
Prices and specs read directly from each merchant's Canadian product page on the date shown — never a guess. A product never appears here until we've verified it first-hand.
Wall-mount and jackshaft operators — frees the ceiling, professional sales channel
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
| Product | Drive | WiFi App | Battery Backup | Lift Capacity | Warranty | Price | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
LiftMaster 8500 Elite Series Jackshaft Operator LiftMaster | Jackshaft (wall-mount, drives the torsion spring tube directly — no overhead rail) | Not stated as included on this specific listing — the WiFi 8500W below adds myQ | Included, per this listing's stated accessories | Up to 850 lbs | Not stated as a separate warranty line on this listing | LiftMaster's jackshaft operator mounts beside the door on the torsion spring tube instead of overhead — frees the whole ceiling for storage, at the cost of a specialized install and the LiftMaster pro-channel price. More+ Frees the entire garage ceiling for storage racks, a pull-down attic ladder, or an EV charger mount — the whole reason to choose a jackshaft opener over an overhead rail – LiftMaster is sold mainly through professional garage-door dealers rather than big-box retail, and several verified reviews describe a specialized install most buyers hired out rather than did themselves — budget for installation labour on top of the listed price | |
LiftMaster Elite Series 8500W Jackshaft Operator, WiFi LiftMaster | Jackshaft (wall-mount, drives the torsion spring tube directly — no overhead rail) | myQ — open, close and check door status from a smartphone | Included, per this listing's stated included accessories | Up to 850 lbs; compatible with doors up to 14 ft high or 18 ft wide, up to 180 sq ft | Not stated as a separate warranty line on this listing | The WiFi-equipped version of LiftMaster's jackshaft operator — myQ app control and the same Automatic Garage Door Lock, at a premium over the non-WiFi 8500 above. More+ myQ WiFi control plus the Automatic Garage Door Lock, on the same space-saving jackshaft mount as the non-WiFi 8500 – The single most expensive opener in this entire table at $1,410.03, and more than one verified review describes the myQ app throwing connection errors even once the hardware itself works |
Prices and specs read directly from each merchant's Canadian product page on the date shown — never a guess. A product never appears here until we've verified it first-hand.
Also on Amazon.ca
A few things most owners of the systems above end up buying anyway — verified on Amazon.ca's own page, same rules as the table.
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
Avisontek 940EV-P2 Universal Wireless Keypad
Every opener above except the two Skylink chain-drive units ships without a keypad included — this universal rolling-code keypad works with Chamberlain, LiftMaster, Craftsman and Genie openers for keyless entry without carrying a remote.
CreaCity 2-Pack Universal Garage Door Remote
A spare or replacement 3-button remote compatible with Chamberlain, LiftMaster and Craftsman openers manufactured from 1993 onward — handy for a second driver or a lost original remote.
Wadoy 41A5034 Safety Sensor Replacement Kit
The infrared photo-eye safety sensors every opener above requires under the UL 325 safety standard wear out over years of cold-weather use — this replacement kit restores the automatic reversal that keeps the door from closing on a car, pet or person, compatible with Chamberlain, LiftMaster and Craftsman openers made after 1997.
myQ Garage Plug-in Camera Gen 2
Adds the camera and 2-way audio that only the Chamberlain B6753T above includes built in — snaps onto any of the other eight openers in this table with a magnetic mount and runs through the same myQ app.

Reviewed by John Moelker
Founder, CompareLocal.ca · Oxford County, Ontario · Updated Oct 7, 2026 · How we choose
Near you: Woodstock, Stratford, St. Thomas — local water, utility and installer notes for outdoor and garage.
How we chose
This category runs Amazon.ca-first, same as the rest of this site: Amazon pays us a commission when you buy through these links, and we say so plainly above every table — see the disclosure and How We Make Money. We only publish an opener after opening its actual Amazon.ca listing ourselves, through a rendered browser session rather than a plain page fetch (Amazon.ca's product pages return an empty JavaScript shell to an automated fetch, so every number below was read off the page as a person would see it), and reading the price, rating, and stated specs off it on the date shown — never a guess. Two of the seven (the Skylink chain-drive pair) are sold and shipped by Skylink Inc., a Richmond Hill, Ontario company, rather than a US-marketplace import like the LiftMaster jackshaft listings here; both ship to Canada and carry hundreds of verified "Reviewed in Canada" purchases, which we checked before including them. Two Genie belt-drive models we originally priced — the StealthDrive Connect 7155-TKV and QuietLift Connect 3053-TKV — don't appear below: opening each listing with an Ontario delivery address set returns Amazon's own notice that the item can't be shipped there, which we confirmed by actually adding each to cart, and no Canadian big-box or Genie-authorized dealer carries either exact model. One LiftMaster jackshaft listing below (the 8500W/98022) also needs a caveat: Amazon shows no single featured offer for it, only resale listings from third-party sellers with mixed feedback histories, each priced above what we'd originally read off the page — we've updated the price to the lowest real offer and noted the reseller risk on that row rather than publish a stale number. Worth stating plainly: Chamberlain is sold mainly through big-box retail and its own myQ-branded consumer line, while LiftMaster — made by the same parent company, the Chamberlain Group — sells almost exclusively through professional garage-door dealers, which is why both LiftMaster jackshaft operators below cost more and several verified reviews describe hiring the install out rather than doing it themselves; neither brand is "better," they're different sales channels for related hardware. Safety matters more in this category than in most we compare: every opener below replaces the motor and drive mechanism only — none of these listings, and no honest installation of a garage door opener, involves touching the door's torsion springs, which store enough energy to cause serious injury and are never a homeowner job regardless of which opener you buy; if your springs need replacing, that's a separate call to a garage-door technician. Every opener in this table also requires a working pair of infrared photo-eye safety sensors low on the door track, the automatic-reversal feature mandated under the UL 325 safety standard for any garage door opener sold in North America since 1993 — several listings state this requirement directly, and our photo-eye replacement kit below exists because those sensors are the one safety part on this whole list that wears out and needs replacing over years of cold-weather use.
Keeping the garage heated through an Ontario winter so belts and chains don't stiffen up in the cold? Compare garage heaters with a verified Canadian price →
Want the opener's battery backup to survive more than a short outage, or power the freezer and sump pump too? Compare portable power stations and backup generators with a verified Canadian price →
Already own a CO or smoke alarm, or need to check what's required in an attached garage? Compare smoke and CO detectors with a verified Canadian price →
Frequently asked questions
Belt drive or chain drive — which should I actually buy?
Belt drive is quieter, full stop — a steel-reinforced rubber belt has no metal-on-metal contact, which matters most if a bedroom sits directly above or beside the garage. Chain drive is simpler, cheaper, and arguably more field-proven: the Genie ChainMax 1000 in this table carries the highest customer rating of any opener here, 4.6 stars, at a mid-range price. In an unheated Ontario garage, a chain needs occasional lubrication to stay smooth through a cold winter, while a belt generally doesn't — one more reason belt drive tends to be the pick for an attached garage near living space, and chain drive for a detached garage or workshop where noise matters less.
Do I actually need WiFi and an app, or is that a gimmick?
It depends on what you'd use it for. The real, repeatedly-verified benefit across the reviews in this table is knowing the door is actually closed — several reviewers specifically mention no longer wondering, halfway to work, whether they left the garage open. Past that, more than one verified review across both Chamberlain's myQ and Genie's Aladdin Connect apps describes paying for a subscription to unlock video history or voice-assistant integration beyond the basic open/close/status function, and Skylink's Orbit app draws mixed long-term WiFi-reliability reviews even on units that work fine as a plain remote-and-keypad opener. If checking door status from your phone matters, budget for the possibility of a subscription; if it doesn't, the non-WiFi Genie ChainMax 1000 in this table is the simplest, highest-rated option.
What happens to my garage door opener during a power outage?
Without a working battery backup, nothing automatic — every opener in this table, WiFi-equipped or not, needs mains power to run its motor, and without it you pull the red manual-release cord and lift the door by hand. Three of the seven openers here state a battery backup is included (the Chamberlain B6753T and both LiftMaster jackshaft operators); the rest either don't include one or sell it as a separate accessory, which we note on every row. This matters more outside dense urban areas, where rural and remote power lines generally see more frequent and longer outages than urban feeders, so a battery backup is worth paying for specifically if you're on a rural line, not just a nice-to-have.
My new garage has an 8-foot door — will any of these fit?
Most openers in this table are built and rated out of the box for a standard 7-foot door, which was the near-universal size for decades; an increasing number of newer Southwestern Ontario builds use an 8-foot door instead, especially for a truck or SUV garage. Where the listing states it, we've noted it in the Door Height spec: the Genie ChainMax 1000 explicitly supports an 8-foot door with a separate extension kit (EKBC), sold apart from the opener itself. Measure your actual door height before ordering, and budget for the extension kit as a separate line item if you need one — it's not included in any price shown here.
Why do LiftMaster's jackshaft openers cost so much more than the overhead openers above?
Partly the hardware, partly the sales channel. A jackshaft operator mounts beside the door and drives the torsion spring tube directly instead of using an overhead rail and trolley, which frees the entire garage ceiling for storage, an attic ladder, or an EV charger — a real advantage the overhead belt- and chain-drive openers in this table can't offer. But LiftMaster, unlike its sibling brand Chamberlain (same parent company, the Chamberlain Group), sells almost exclusively through professional garage-door dealers rather than big-box retail, and several verified reviews of both jackshaft operators here describe hiring a professional installer for what the hardware alone doesn't make obviously DIY-friendly. Expect to budget for installation labour on top of the opener's own price.
Can I install a garage door opener myself, and is it safe to touch the springs?
Installing the opener itself — the motor, rail or jackshaft unit, remotes, keypad, and photo-eye safety sensors — is a project several verified reviewers across this table describe doing themselves in a few hours with basic tools, and most listings include step-by-step instructions or an app-based install guide. What you should never do, regardless of which opener you buy, is touch the garage door's torsion springs: they store enough mechanical energy under tension to cause serious injury or death if they let go while being adjusted, and replacing or adjusting them is a licensed garage-door technician's job every time, full stop. Every opener in this table also depends on a working pair of infrared photo-eye safety sensors mounted low on the door track — the automatic-reversal feature that's been mandated under the UL 325 safety standard for every garage door opener sold in North America since 1993 — so test that the door reverses when something breaks the beam before considering any install finished.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. CompareLocal.ca is independent and Canadian-owned. How we make money.