Product comparisons
Engine Block Heaters compared, with a verified Canadian price.
11 products verified · checked Oct 6, 2026
For a Canadian driver whose car doesn't already have a factory block heater, or whose factory heater just died — three different jobs, each with its own table above the fold. The first group is engine block heaters themselves, split by how they install: a frost-plug (freeze-plug) heater that replaces a plug in the block, an in-line heater that splices into a coolant hose, or a magnetic heater that needs no install at all. The second group is for the battery, not the engine — a cold battery loses cranking amps before a cold engine even gets a chance to turn over, so a battery blanket or a cold-rated smart charger belongs in the same cart as any heater above. The third group is the accessories that make any of the above safe and worth the electricity: a properly heavy-gauge extension cord, a timer so the heater isn't running all night, and a hood cover to cut the wind chill off the engine bay. Worth saying plainly: this category is seasonal — demand follows the first real cold snap, not a steady year-round search — and a meaningful number of vehicles sold new in Canada already ship with a factory block heater, so the value here is choosing the right type and the right accessories, not convincing anyone they need one.
Block heater types, by how they install
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
| Product | Type | Wattage | Fitment | Install | Thermostat | Certification | Price | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Zerostart 3100057 Engine Block Heater Zerostart | Frost-plug (freeze-plug) heater | 600W | 1-5/8" diameter freeze plug — listed for Buick, Cadillac, Chevrolet, Ford, Mercury, Lincoln, Jeep, Pontiac, Continental and Oldsmobile; check your engine's freeze-plug part number before buying | Mechanic or confident DIYer — replaces a freeze plug, so coolant has to be drained first | Not stated | CSA approved | A frost-plug (freeze-plug) heater that replaces an existing freeze plug in the block — the classic, most common type for GM- and Ford-family gas V8s. More+ CSA approved and the cheapest 600W frost-plug heater we found, on a 12% price cut at the time we checked – No warranty stated on the listing, and at least one buyer received a plug slightly smaller than the stated diameter — measure your own freeze-plug bore before ordering | |
Zerostart 3500022 Engine Block Immersion Heater Zerostart | Frost-plug / immersion heater (diesel) | 750W | 3/4" NPT thread — listed for Cummins and Paccar diesel engines; confirm your engine's port size first | Mechanic or confident DIYer — threads into the block, coolant must be drained first | Not stated | CSA approved | A direct-replacement immersion heater for Cummins and Paccar diesel engines, threading into the same 3/4" NPT port the factory heater uses. More+ Reviewers report it keeping 6.7L Cummins trucks starting easily through actual Canadian and Alaskan winters down near -40°C – 750W draws more current than the smaller frost-plug heaters here — check your circuit and any extension cord's amp rating before running it | |
Zerostart 3308003 Series 8000 Circulation Heater Zerostart | In-line (lower-hose) circulation heater | 1500W | 5/8" (15.9mm) diameter inlet/outlet — fits most gas and diesel coolant hose runs of that size, but confirm your own hose diameter before buying | Mechanic or confident DIYer — splices into a coolant hose; detachable power cord | Yes — built-in safety thermostat, 147°F (64°C) on, 185°F (85°C) off | CSA approved | An in-line heater that splices into a lower radiator or heater hose and circulates warmed coolant through the engine — no drilling into the block. More+ The only heater in this group with a built-in thermostat — it cycles itself off instead of running at full wattage the whole time it's plugged in – Reviewers say the coolant line needs to be "burped" of trapped air after install, and output can fall short of keeping a big diesel warm on the very coldest prairie nights | |
Kat's 1155 200 Watt Magnetic Heater Kat's | Magnetic (no install) | 200W | Universal — magnetically grips any flat steel surface (oil pan, block, battery case); will NOT hold to an aluminum block | DIY — no tools, no coolant drained, just set the magnet in place | Yes — electronic thermostat | Not stated | A magnetic heater that sticks to a steel oil pan, engine block or battery case with no draining, drilling or hose-splicing at all. More+ No mechanic, no drilling, no drained coolant — the only heater in this group anyone can install themselves in minutes – Reviewers say it won't grip an aluminum block and underperforms below about -20°C next to a true block heater — treat this as a backup, not a frost-plug replacement |
Prices and specs read directly from each merchant's Canadian product page on the date shown — never a guess. A product never appears here until we've verified it first-hand.
Oil pan and battery warmers
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
| Product | Type | Power | Cold-weather feature | Certification | Warranty | Price | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Canadian Polar Pad CP512 Oil Pan Heater Canadian Polar Pad | Silicone oil pan heater pad (peel & stick) | 250W | 6 ft power cord; manufacturer states it will not harm computer-controlled light-duty engines | CSA approved | Not stated | A peel-and-stick silicone pad that heats the oil pan directly from underneath — a Canadian-sold alternative to a drilled-in block heater. More+ CSA-marked and sold by a Canadian company, with a 6 ft cord that reaches most engine bays without an extension cord – No thermostat or auto-shutoff stated — several reviewers warn not to leave it plugged in unattended overnight; pair it with the timer in the accessories table below | |
Zerostart 2800063 Electric Battery Blanket Zerostart | Battery wrap blanket | 80W | 36" wrap, 30" ground cord; fits battery group sizes 24/24F/24H/24R/24T/25/27/27F/27H/31/34/34R/35/38/74 — check your battery's group size on its case label; NOT rated for lithium-ion, NiCad or an ABS-case battery | CSA approved | Not stated | A wrap-around blanket that warms the battery itself rather than the engine — cold batteries lose cranking amps before a cold engine even gets a chance to turn over. More+ CSA approved and the only battery wrap we found that states the exact battery group sizes it fits, instead of a vague "universal" claim – Explicitly not rated for lithium-ion or NiCad batteries, or a battery with an ABS plastic case — check your battery's label first | |
NOCO GENIUS5 5A Smart Battery Charger NOCO | Smart charger / maintainer | 5A, 75W output | Integrated thermal sensor adjusts the charge rate for ambient temperature — safe to leave connected indefinitely | CSA, FCC, UL | 3-year | A smart charger and maintainer with built-in temperature compensation, so it's safe to leave connected to a cold car battery all winter. More+ States CSA among its certifications — not just a US-only UL mark — and a Canadian reviewer in Toronto reports starting an RV reliably after nights at -36°C – 5A is a maintenance rate, not a fast charge — a deeply discharged battery can take many hours before Force Mode even begins making progress | |
CTEK MUS 4.3 Polar Battery Charger CTEK | Smart charger / maintainer (Extreme Climate) | 4.3A | Rated to -22°F (-30°C); "Snowflake" mode and cold-rated AC/DC cables built specifically for extreme cold | IEC (CSA/ULC mark not stated — ask your electrician) | 5-year limited | An 8-step charger built specifically for extreme cold, with AC and DC cables rated to stay flexible well below the temperatures that turn ordinary cords stiff. More+ The only charger here with a published cold-weather rating (-30°C) and cables specifically built to stay flexible at that temperature – Its listing states an IEC mark, not a CSA or cUL mark by name — confirm the exact certification printed on the unit if that matters for your use |
Prices and specs read directly from each merchant's Canadian product page on the date shown — never a guess. A product never appears here until we've verified it first-hand.
Accessories — cord, timer and hood cover
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
| Product | Type | Length | Rating | Certification | Price | Our take |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
PLUGTUL 12 Gauge Heavy-Duty Extension Cord PLUGTUL | 12 AWG heavy-duty outdoor extension cord | 25 ft | 15A / 1875W, lighted end, SJTW | ETL (CSA/ULC mark not stated — ask your electrician) | A properly heavy-gauge outdoor extension cord — the thin cords sold for Christmas lights aren't rated for a 1500W circulation heater run overnight. More+ Reviewers specifically tested it against a device run for 6+ hours and report it staying only warm, not hot, unlike a thinner cord – At least one reviewer notes it gets stiff in freezing temperatures — uncoil it fully before a cold install rather than forcing a tight bend | |
BN-LINK Outdoor Smart Wi-Fi Plug Timer BN-LINK | Smart Wi-Fi outdoor timer (3 outlets, ganged — not switched individually) | 6.8 in cord | 15A / 1875W, IP44 weatherproof | ETL (CSA/ULC mark not stated — ask your electrician) | A WiFi-and-Bluetooth outdoor smart plug that schedules the heater from an app — Canadian reviewers specifically describe using it for a block heater. More+ Two Canadian reviewers (Ontario) specifically describe using this exact plug for their car's block heater and landscape lights – The 3 outlets switch together, not individually — fine for one heater, but don't expect to schedule a heater and something else on a different timer from the same plug | |
FOSHIO Magnetic Car Hood Cover FOSHIO | Magnetic insulated hood cover (passive — no power) | 57 × 71 in | — | Not applicable — fabric cover, no electrical certification | A fleece-lined magnetic hood cover that blocks snow and wind off the hood — the listing claims it also helps reduce engine heat loss, on top of any heater running underneath. More+ Fleece lining doubles as scratch protection for the paint, not just an insulation layer – Attaches with only two small magnets — reviewers say it won't grip an aluminum hood and can blow around in wind without a waxed, magnetic steel surface to hold it |
Prices and specs read directly from each merchant's Canadian product page on the date shown — never a guess. A product never appears here until we've verified it first-hand.
Also on Amazon.ca
A few things most owners of the systems above end up buying anyway — verified on Amazon.ca's own page, same rules as the table.
How we're free: Rows marked Affiliate link: the retailer pays us a commission if you buy are affiliate links: if you buy through them the retailer pays us a commission at no cost to you. Rankings are never for sale. How we make money →
BN-LINK Outdoor 24-Hour Mechanical Timer
The simple, no-app version of the timer above — set the dial once and it repeats daily; a Canadian reviewer specifically uses it for a block heater.
JUSTTOP 3-Prong Plug Protector (2-pack)
Keeps snow, ice and road salt out of the heater cord's male end whenever it's unplugged during the day.

Reviewed by John Moelker
Founder, CompareLocal.ca · Oxford County, Ontario · Updated Oct 6, 2026 · How we choose
Near you: Woodstock, Stratford, St. Thomas — local water, utility and installer notes for power and outages.
How we chose
This category runs Amazon-first: Amazon pays us a commission when you buy through these links, and we say so plainly above every table — see the disclosure and How We Make Money. We only publish a product after opening its actual Amazon.ca listing ourselves and reading the price, wattage, fitment and certification mark off it on the date shown — never a guess, and never a wattage or fitment carried over from a different model's listing. Where a listing names a specific certification mark (CSA, ETL, UL, IEC), we say exactly that and nothing more; where it doesn't name one, the Certification column says "Not stated" rather than assuming CSA, the same rule the EV-charger and heat-pump-dryer comparisons on this site already follow. CAA National's own winter driving guidance is specific about when a block heater earns its electricity: "If the temperature in your area drops below -15ºC, consider using a block heater to reduce engine stress" — above that, most vehicles don't need one running. Manufacturers and installers commonly recommend plugging in three to four hours before you actually drive, not all night; running one of the non-thermostat heaters in our first table (the 600W Zerostart 3100057, say) for a full 8-hour overnight instead of a 4-hour pre-drive window roughly doubles the electricity it uses for no extra benefit once the block is already warm. At Ontario's own Tier 1 electricity rate of 12.0 cents per kWh (Ontario Energy Board, effective November 1, 2025), that 600W heater costs about 58 cents left on for 8 hours versus about 29 cents for 4 hours — a difference of roughly $8.70 across a 30-night cold spell, which is most of what the mechanical timer in our consumables list below actually costs. None of the four heaters in our first table state a manufacturer warranty on their Amazon.ca listing — we say so plainly in each row rather than inventing one. Cold affects more than the engine: a battery's cranking amps drop as it gets colder, which is why the second table pairs engine heaters with a battery blanket or a smart charger built with a cold-weather charging mode, rather than assuming a warm engine alone solves a cold start. An EV has no engine block to heat at all — if that's what brought you here, see our EV chargers comparison for choosing between a Level 1 and Level 2 home charger instead, since battery preconditioning (not a block heater) is the EV equivalent. We are not mechanics: a frost-plug or in-line heater install means draining coolant and matching a specific plug size or hose diameter to your exact engine — confirm the part number with your own make, model and engine before buying, don't assume a listing's named vehicles cover every trim and model year.
Already decided you need a garage heater instead of, or alongside, a block heater? Compare garage heaters with a verified Canadian price →
Driving an EV instead — no engine block to heat, but still want a warm start? Compare EV chargers with a verified Canadian price →
Frequently asked questions
At what temperature should I actually plug in a block heater?
CAA National's own winter driving guidance puts it plainly: "If the temperature in your area drops below -15ºC, consider using a block heater to reduce engine stress." Above that, most vehicles start and run fine without one — a block heater's main job is reducing cold-start wear and speeding up cabin heat on the genuinely cold nights, not every night of the Canadian winter.
How long should I leave it plugged in before driving?
Manufacturers and installers commonly recommend three to four hours before you actually drive — not all night. Once the block and coolant are warm, more time plugged in doesn't add benefit, it just adds electricity cost; see the outdoor timer in our accessories table and consumables list for automating that window instead of guessing.
My car already has a block heater from the factory — do I need anything here?
A meaningful number of new vehicles sold in Canada ship with one as standard equipment, usually a cord hanging below the front grille. If yours already has one and it's working, you likely only need the accessories table — a proper heavy-gauge extension cord and a timer — rather than a new heater. These tables are for an aftermarket install, a replacement for a dead factory unit, or a vehicle that never had one.
Which type of block heater should I buy — frost-plug, in-line, or magnetic?
A frost-plug (freeze-plug) heater, like the Zerostart 3100057 or 3500022 in our first table, is the most common factory-style install but means draining coolant and matching your engine's exact plug size or thread — a mechanic job for most drivers. An in-line heater like the Zerostart 3308003 splices into a coolant hose instead of the block itself, and is the only one in our table with a built-in thermostat. A magnetic heater like the Kat's 1155 needs no install at all, but reviewers say it won't hold to an aluminum block and underperforms a true block heater below about -20°C — treat it as a backup, not a replacement, for most vehicles.
Does a battery blanket or smart charger actually make a difference if I already have a block heater?
Yes — a warm engine still won't turn over if the battery itself is too cold to deliver its rated cranking amps. The battery blanket and smart chargers in our second table address that directly: the Zerostart 2800063 wraps and warms the battery case itself, while the NOCO GENIUS5 and CTEK MUS 4.3 Polar use a cold-weather charging mode to keep a battery topped up safely through the coldest nights, which a plain block heater does nothing for.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. CompareLocal.ca is independent and Canadian-owned. How we make money.